PROBUS Club of Durham West

Speakers at Durham West Probus Club 

The following is provided for information only. It is not an endorsement by the Durham West Probus Club or any of its members. 

Often contact information is available through the speaker’s Linkedin professional profile, the organizations or businesses listed or online. The details are true to the date they were  originally posted. 

2018

May 10   John Mason, President of "Friends of Guild Park and Gardens"

Apr. 12   Janine Agnew-Cato from the Durham Literacy Network

Mar. 8    Ted Barris, The Great Escape  http://tedbarris.com

Feb. 8    Michael Neumann, Electrical Solutions Advisor (electrical &home safety) contact: Angela Hoyos at 905-569-1818, or                                          email at ahoyos@birnie.com

Jan. 11   C. J. Calvert , inspirational speaker & author   “Living an Exceptional Life”   http://www.cjcalvert.com/

2017 

Jan. 12   Andrew Felker,  lawyer at Walker-Head law firm   'Estate Planning & Probate Process"   https://canadalawyerlist.com 

Feb. 9    Social activity 

Mar.9    Rick Atkinson,  President of RA Retirement Advisors, "Don't Just Retire. Live It. Love."    http://whencaniretire.ca/about/ 

Apr.13   Dan Buchanan, author   “A family tree search led to a murder buried in the past."   http://danbuchananhistoryguy.com 

May 11  Steve Craig  "Zoos and their importance" 

June 8   Steve Burrows, author  “Murder Mysteries and travel regarding birds and other events."   http://www.abirdermurder.com 

July 13   Becky George, librarian and historian  "Pickering/Ajax in the Age of Confederation"   https://durhamregionarchivesgroup.com 

Aug.10   Thanh Campbell, motivational speaker   "Orphan 32 (Vietnam rescue)"  http://orphan32.com 

Sept.14  Talli Osborne, inspirational speaker   "How to stay positive when life is difficult"  https://talliosborne.com 

Oct.12    Dr. Francine Dallaire, chiropractor   "Optimum Health and Detox."  http://www.healingpower.ca 

Nov.9     Bill McKee,  award winning Town Crier  for Scugog, Uxbridge & Oshawa  http://towncrier.on.ca/members.htm 

2016 

Jan.12    Speaker  from Room 217 Foundation  “Music & Palliative Care”   https://www.room217.ca 

Feb.11.  Loretta Tanner  "Alzheimer's and other related issues"  http://www.centraleasthealthline.ca 

Mar.10   Speaker ? 

Apr. 11   Gord. Whatley , owner of The Armchair Motorist,  will talk about his small museum of automobile books and items of history!  

May 12  Barry Risk, author, retired border security & intelligence officer   "Border Protection and You"  

June 9   Speaker ?  "Camp X, but from a daughter's perspective"  http://www.camp-x.com/campx.html 

July 14   Laura Clements, corporate trainer and health specialist,  Alzheimer Society of Durham Region    "Brain Health and Vitality"                                http://www.alzheimer.ca/en/durham  

Aug.16   Jason Slone (Dr. J.)  " Music from the 50's to the 80's" performance  http://www.drjislandmusic.com 

Sept. 8   Tammy Miller, owner Country Cheese Company   "Cheese with including types and pairing with wine"                                                                http://www.countrycheesecompany.com 

Oct.13   Kristie Virgoe, Land Securement Program Manager   "Oak Ridges Moraine and Land Trust"    http://oakridgesmoraine.org 

Nov.10  Becka Soyka, Volunteer and Special Events Coordinator at CAMP ERIN  "Dealing with grieving children and family dynamics."                         https://drjaychildrensgriefcentre.ca 

2015 

Jan. 8     Bruce Woods, author   "Between Two Women" 

Feb.1     Robert Winslow, playwright, actor, director. theatre founder  "Fourth Line Theatre"  https://www.4thlinetheatre.on.ca  

Mar.12   Lesley Page, motivational speaker  " On Becoming a Pilot"  http://couragetosoar.com 

April 9    Brock Godfrey, volunteer with the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (CAFC)   "Fraud Awareness" 

May 14   Maryanne Ford & Steven Nash  "Nordic Pole Construction" 

June 11   Alan Mallory, speaker, author & performance coach  "Climbing Everest"  http://alanmallory.com 

July 9      Lisa Smith  "Horizon House"  http://www.herizonhouse.com 

Aug.13   Speaker  ? 

Sept.10  Geoff Cutten,  Ministry of Environment ret. "Gardens and Bugs" 

Oct. 8     Speaker  ? 

Nov.12   Christopher Colton  " National Air Force Museum of Canada"  http://airforcemuseum.ca/en/contacts 

2014 

Jan. 9      Speaker  none recorded 

Feb.13    Freda Daniels  "Living Under Apartheid in South Africa"   

Mar. 20   Johnathan Van Bilsen, photographer   "Exotic Travel"  http://www.photosntravel.com 

Apr. 10    Speaker ?  "Fun Yoga" 

May 8      Gary Bowen, watershed planning specialist   "Toronto Region Conservation Authority"  https://trca.ca 

June 19    Speaker  none recorded  

July 10     Anne Walker, musician & storyteller    performance  http://annewalker.ca 

Aug, 14   George Laidlaw, author  "The Joys of Canadian history"  http://georgelaidlaw.ca/contact.html 

Sept. 11   Janet Matthews, author  "Chicken Soup For the Soul"  http://janetmatthews.ca 

Oct. 9      Terry Fallis, author  https://terryfallis.com 

Nov.13    Speaker is a representative from ACE. Advocacy Centre for the elderly  http://www.advocacycentreelderly.org 

2013 

Jan. 10    Dr. Nicholas Anthony, chiropractor   "Fall Prevention & Exercise for Healthy Living" 

Feb.14    Speaker  none recorded 

Mar.28   Cheryl Cooper, author  "The War of 1812"  http://cherylcooperauthor.com 

Apr.11   Speaker  none recorded 

May 9    Brian Finley & Donna Bennett, performers/founders  Westben  Arts  Festival  Theatre  performance  http://www.westben.ca 

Jun 13    Jim Craigen, instructor facilitator, Jim Craigen Educational Associates  "Brain Research" 

July 11   Olexander Wlasenko, Station Gallery curator  "Art and the Cinema"  https://www.stationgallery.ca/staff/olexander-wlasenko/ 

Aug.8     Ellen Roseman, columnist Toronto Star ret.   "Consumer Advocacy"  http://www.ellenroseman.com 

Sept.12  Eduard Klassen, harpist   performance  https://www.eduardklassen.com 

Oct. 10   Speaker ?  "Haunted Houses in Ontario" 

Nov.14   Shen Yun Performing Arts   "Chinese Music & Dance"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This website is created and hosted by Website.com's Site Builder.